Skip to content

Liebster Award Nomination

April 26, 2014

My friend Alison nominated me for a Liebster Award a few weeks ago, and I really had no clue what it was for until I thread through her post about it. It’s simply an award given out to smaller blogs  (with fewer than 200 – 500 followers). Since it’s tagged as such, it helps us smaller blogs get a bit more exposure. So, thank you to Alison for nominating my blog! 🙂

So the rules I’m following are:

  • Make a post about the Liebster Award & thank the blogger who nominated you
  • State 11 interesting facts about yourself
  • Answer the 11 questions asked by the blogger who nominated you
  • Nominate 5 – 11 new bloggers with 500 followers or less (make sure you tell them they’re nominated!)
  • Write 11 new questions for your nominees

Alright, so 11 interesting facts about me:

  1. I cannot stand carbonated drinks (except for water). I’ve hated them since I was a toddler.
  2. Based on my family tree, there is a high probability that I am probably a 5th cousin of the late Olympic Track & Field star Jesse Owens, who went to the same college/university that I did– Ohio State University. (My family will be getting DNA testing done to confirm this.)
  3. According to Ancestry.com, I’m related to chorerographer Fatima Robinson, who choreographed music videos for the Black Eyed Peas, the Backstreet Boys (“As Long As You Love Me” & “(Everybody) Backstreet’s Back”), and the late Aaliyah.
  4. My mother, both my sisters and I all have a mole on the upper right side of our chest. We cannot explain why that is to this day. It’s weird.
  5. As a toddler, I once drew in crayon all over my parents’ wooden coffee table. My parents still have that same coffee table. They managed to get most of the crayon off, but chose to leave some of my crayon marks on the underside of the table since no one could see it except other kids (and they wouldn’t care). Those crayon marks are still there, and my parents say now that they’re happy they left it there (I guess as a memory of my art? Haha).
  6. When I was about 5, my sister (the older of my two younger sisters) and I locked my mother out of our home for about 5-10 minutes. We had been outside playing, then we came inside, and my mom went back outside to clean up, and we just decided it would be funny to lock her out, lol. I vaguely remember her yelling at us through the clear sliding door to let her back in, and we just looked at her and laughed for a while. We eventually let her back in, of course.
  7. I’ve only ever been out of the country twice. Once to Canada as a toddler, and once to Bermuda in my mid-20s. Both times I visited the same set of godparents. Both times I had medical issues. I got sick through either an allergic reaction or an asthma attack in Canada, which resulted in me being hospitalized. In Bermuda, I foolishly picked up a Portuguese Man O’ War with my bare left hand. Had to wait 15-20 minutes for medical assistance to arrive, which basically only involved scrubbing down and cleaning up my hand, then putting some sort of ointment on it. I was ok for the rest of the trip until I got on the plane to go home a week later, and my hand broke out in a rash. I treated it with hydrocortisone cream. (P.S.– The Portuguese Man O’ War is supposedly the 3rd deadliest jellyfish on the planet. So yeah, I survived that shit.)
  8. As a child, I spent 2-3 days in ICU (Intensive Care Unit) after a bad asthma attack. They almost did a tracheotomy on me, which would have involved cutting a hole in my throat and putting a breathing tube down it. My dad fought the doctor and told him and his staff that should be a last resort. I obviously got better, but according to my parents and grandparents, this was one of my close calls.
  9. Speaking of asthma and allergic reactions, I’ve had asthma, food allergies, and numerous other allergies to animals and nature since I was 8 months old. I haven’t been hospitalized for either since I was a pre-teen, which is good. I still have mild allergic reactions, but I know how to handle them now (and I should at my age).
  10. My food allergies have rendered me vegetarian. In fact, the only animal by-products I don’t have an allergy to are honey and gelatin. So I currently have a vegan diet.
  11. In America, most people get their driver’s license at 16 years old. I waited until my late 20s to get my driver’s license. I think I had a slight driving phobia that kept me from doing it. That, plus I figured I’d be driving one of the semi-crappy cars we have, which is exactly what happened when I did finally get my license. (Yes, I have a car to drive, but my car is HORRIBLE. You try driving a black car all summer when it has aboslutely NO AIR CONDITIONING.)

 

Why did you start your blog?

I started my blog for monetary reasons, to be honest. Plenty of people start blogs for fun, but for me, I needed money. I started this blog (and a few others on other website domains) to promote my Squidoo websites and my Zazzle webstore. I still keep the blog for monetary reasons, but now I maintain the blog for fun as well.

 

What’s your biggest regret?

I don’t really have just one. I regret not going on my high school senior class trip to Hawaii. I regret geting my driver’s license so late in my 20s. I regret certain job interviews. I would say the biggest regret I have is not living away from my parents during college, but I don’t know that living with other students would have been any better. There probably would have been lots of drama and drunken nights, so I doubt I missed out on much with my college peers. I never wanted to live that kind of college life.

 

Favourite Author?

Anne Frank. But I’m getting older and I’m wondering if I should find a new favorite author.

 

What would be the title of your autobiography?

Get back to me on that one. I have too many names/ideas to choose from.

 

You have three wishes, but you can’t use them for yourself or for your personal gain. What do you wish for?

I would wish for no more sexual assault/rape/molestation, the end of poverty, and, of course, world peace.

 

Who inspires you?

Super-creative people like Audrey Kitching, Kerli, Charlavail. I’m naturally creative, so I gravitate towards other people with creative abilities.

 

What piece of technology couldn’t you get by without?

Most definitely would be my laptop. It’s my lifeline, to be honest.

 

What book are you reading right now?

School books. I have books I have to read as part of my studies for my Internet marketing Master’s degree. Otherwise, I don’t read books outside of school.

 

What was your favourite TV show/cartoon as a child?

I didn’t have any one favorite cartoon. I would just watch whatever cartoons were on in the afternoon after school, as well as evening cartoons. Ducktales, Talespin, Chip & Dale’s Rescue Rangers, Animaniacs, Tiny Toon Adventures, Rocky & Bullwinkle, and Looney Tunes. I wasn’t a picky child when it came to cartoons.

 

Favourite quote?

“Life is not about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” It’s a quote by George Bernard Shaw that I first saw on merchandise in a Barnes & Noble bookstore. I relate to it very strongly. I love creating things anyway, and the idea that I can create myself, as well as the life that I wanted, is a very positive and exciting one to me. Another way to look at this quote is that instead of figuring out what you’re supposed to do in life (based on your parents’ or guardians’ wishes, the religion you were raised in, or society’s standards), figure out what you want to do.

Something else to note: I want that quote tattooed on my arm at some point this year if possible.

 

Where do you hope your life is at in a years time?

I hope I have a good job (both in pay and in work), and that I’m living on my own in a nice, personally decorated and furnished apartment, and that I have a decent car (better than the one I have now, which has no air [as I mentioned before], no radio, and tires that are horrible for wet roads). And I’d like to have at least 1 or 2 dogs as well.

 

So now, I will nominate:

  1.  In all honesty, I have yet to figure this out. I will eventually pick 5 other blogs (possibly my own followers on Tumblr) and list their blogs and their names here in the near (or distant) future.

And these will be the new set of questions for the future nominees: 

  1. How long have you been blogging for?
  2. What is your favorite game to play?
  3. Who is your favorite singer/band/musician?
  4. What is (or was) your favorite TV show to watch?
  5. What is your favorite movie or film?
  6. What is your favorite food or favorite type of food?
  7. What are your pet peeves?
  8. What one thing have you always wanted to do, yet you never seem to have the time/money/other resources/guts to do it?
  9. What is your favorite thing to do during your free time?
  10. Have you ever failed miserably at something?
  11. Have you ever excelled greatly at something?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

