Skip to content

Drama…

May 6, 2012

Originally posted on the CHERRY AMBITION Tumblr Blog:

Sigh. So I previously posted about taking my mother to the hospital last weekend for a spreading rash. It was the result of some antibiotics she’d been taking to keep her knee from getting infected (remember, she had knee replacement surgery a few weeks ago).

Well, we found out Monday or Tuesday that the rash was far more serious than any of us thought. It turns out the antibiotics they gave my mom caused a rare but serious condition called Stevens-Johnson Syndrome, which can be caused by a variety of things, including medicine. It basically means the first layer of skin separate from the second layer of skin, and causes ugly rashes, sores, etc. If not treated appropriately, it can cause death. (And now you see why it freaked my family out initially, and why I haven’t been blogging much this week.)

Apparently, my mother had no business being on those antibiotics for over a week. In fact, she probably shouldn’t have been on them at all. Her lips, arms, chest, shoulders, back, and her right leg have all gotten a rash or some bumps on them. Her eyes were bothering her too, and she had a slight fever. That on top of the pain from her knee.

So we stopped the antibiotics when I took her to the hospital. After she got her diagnosis this week, they gave her eyedrops and some special cream for her lips. She’s not to put anything on her skin for awhile, so they can see if the rash will go away entirely on its own, or if it will flare up again. So far she seems to be doing better. Hoping that it continues that way.

So I’ve been dealing with that for the past week, on top of adjusting to my job and trying to get my driver’s license. I failed that first testing, by the way. I was really depressed about it for that day, but went ahead and rescheduled it for next weekend. Hopefully I can get my license then. I’ll be practicing all this week to work on what I got wrong on the first go-around. Hoping to have a positive report for you all about that in a week.

My sister from NYC flew in to be with our family– particularly my mom– this week. I went to Whole Foods with her Saturday night (in addition to having gone last week), so I have some more goodies to blog about soon.

I may or may not blog a little more today. I have a lot of cleaning to do, some online shopping, and a little cooking to do as well. We’ll see how my time constraints are. For now, hope you all have a good weekend. Go out, enjoy the weather (if it’s nice where you are), and appreciate what you have now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

