Skip to content

Birthday Job Interview & Shopping Excursions

March 31, 2012

So, yesterday was my birthday. I worked four 10-hour workdays so that I could keep my 40 hours a week and get the same size check next week, but still have Friday off. I must say, it was one of the better birthdays I’ve had in a while. I can’t remember what I did for my birthday in 2009, but in 2010 & 2011 I barely celebrated it because I was unemployed. I mean, there was a family birthday dinner, but I didn’t get to do what I really wanted to do. Yesterday was different, however…

I had not planned to have my youngest sister with my mom and I, but she had to sell back some college books on campus, so she was with us for the whole day as a result. My job interview (which is for a clerical position in a medical office) went well. The interviewer was quite nice and friendly, so that put me at ease. I think I’ll find out within the next two weeks if I have the position or not. If I don’t get this, I’m probably not going to apply for anymore jobs until I get my license. It’s difficult to schedule interviews around my current schedule as is it. But it’s worse that I have to wait for someone to drive me to them. Can’t keep doing that. I need to be able to rearrange my schedule however necessary so that I can go to these interviews and get out of my shitty job. Must happen.

Anyways, after the interview my sister went to her campus bookstore & sold her books. After that, we went to about 3 different places that sell wigs & hair extensions. I was hoping to get this hair called Remi hair, which is supposed to be among the best, longest-lasting kind of hair. But they didn’t have any in the dark red blend that I wanted. Turns out I might have to just buy blonde Remi hair & have it dyed professionally (which will be even more expensive than I planned). So annoying.

After that, we went to the mall because my youngest sister wanted to go to Forever 21. They went to some other store nearby first and I ended up going to Barnes & Noble to look around and buy something (which I did- two journals & a magnet). Then I went into Forever 21 expecting them to be there, but had to go pull them from another store before returning. Then they were looking around for forever, so I said “screw it” and went upstairs to look for a pair of black dress pants. Didn’t find the dress pants, but found two black skirts, a blue skirt & a red skirt, along with a color-block body contour strapless dress and a pair of blue leggings. Bought all of it after going into the dressing room 3 different times to try stuff on.

After that, I went to Jo-Ann Fabrics to buy some transfer web paper & white fabric for this skeleton iron-on I’m recreating (courtesy of CharlaVail’s template & video instructions, which I’ll blog later on). Took a while, but I got that material. (I’ll post Charlavail’s Vimeo instruction video about that later.)

After Jo-Ann Fabrics we went to Whole Foods Market. I believe I bought about $40 worth of food from Whole Foods. Some of it was fresh dishes they had made at the store. I’m usually never able to eat anything that was just made, because most stores always have food allergens mixed in with it somehow. I’ll blog about that food in a separate post as well.

Only other stuff we did after that was put money in the bank (I cashed a birthday check I received earlier in the week), and then a store called Kohl’s (my mom & sis went in for 10-15 minutes while I waited in the car). Then we went home and ate the food we’d bought from Whole Foods while watching some thunderstorms roll in.

And that was basically my birthday. Like I said, one of the better ones I’ve had in years (and I haven’t even gotten all of my birthday presents & cards yet)!

I will post photos this weekend (today or tomorrow) of everything I bought yesterday (and possibly more)…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

