Skip to content

Vegan Substitutes I Bought Over the Weekend (Friday, Really) & Soy-Butter

January 29, 2012

The top photo features vegan stuff I bought over the weekend. I bought the arrowroot powder for ice cream I’ll be making in the future (the “Vegan Scoop” book I wrote about in this post calls often for that as a binding ingredient). I wasn’t sure I’d be able to have the Silk creamers, since I can’t drink the milk (they have allergy warnings for possible cross-contamination with almonds/nuts, as one of their milk flavors is almond, and I’m allergic to that). But there were no allergy warnings on the creamers, and I took a small sip of each to see if I would have any kind of reaction, which I didn’t, so they’re safe for my ice cream recipes as well. The Ricemellow Creme I bought because I’m low on what I have left and I know I’ll likely use it in another recipe. The strawberry sorbet is pretty much the only store-bought/ready-made sorbet/ice-cream treat that I like. I bought 3 of those, lol. LOVE that stuff. And the Daiya Shredded Cheddar Cheese— I bought 3 or 4 of because they were on sale. I have 5 of those all together. It’s my favorite vegan cheese, so far. I don’t like the Mozzarella and Pepperjack flavors, and I don’t like any of the Teese cheeses. Daiya Cheddar wins every time for me.

Now, the soy(nut)-butters in the bottom photo are my substitutes for peanut butter since I’m allergic to that. I buy different brands & consistencies of that based on whatever the recipe calls for. These I just happened to have had for awhile, and I pulled them out for this peanut butter ice cream recipe I’ll be making from the Vegan Scoop book. In fact, the mixture is chilling in the fridge as I type this.

Just a few goodies from my shopping trips I made on Friday. I’ll let you know how the ice cream turns out… 🙂

NOTE: Ignore the “JA” written on some of my items. I mark my food so other people in my family know it’s mine and won’t eat it. Yet another reason I can’t wait to live alone. Won’t have to worry about marking my food then because I won’t have to worry about anyone else accidentally eating it…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

