Skip to content

Red Hair I Want

January 14, 2012

Red Hair I Want

I want red hair like this in wig form. I’d say extensions, but extensions have ruined my hair in the past, and they’re a pain to put in and yucky to take out. So I just want wigs that looks like the color & styles above. But I’m having a hard time finding wigs this color (with the fading & the highlights), even though the hair exists in extension form. I’m thinking I might actually have to just find some long-lasting extension hair that color and make the wig myself. Already looking up wig-making tutorials on YouTube…

P.S. If you’ve seen some wigs online in the colors above, do let me know…

P.S.S. Previously posted both of these photos here & here

Imported from CHERRY AMBITION on Tumblr

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 7:23 pm

    This might be a daft question but can’t you dye the hair on a normal wig?

  2. January 15, 2012 9:05 pm

    Well, most people don’t take wigs and dye them. They find hair and dye it the color they want, and they either sew it together to make a wig, or use it as extensions to be mixed in with their own hair.

    But I guess yes, it’s possible. But it’s easier to do when the hair color desired is lighter, and in that case I’d be buying a blonde wig, then dyeing it. The red coloring above is much harder to get. So I probably wouldn’t attempt to dye it (I’ve never dyed hair in my life, and the above coloring/shading I’d be more apt to mess up). I’d just try to find long-lasting hair already dyed that color.

    • January 16, 2012 9:49 am

      Red is pretty easy hun, I’ve had red before – the only thing with red is that it can fade after 2 months of washing so you have to keep dying it.

      • January 17, 2012 11:40 pm

        If it’s so easy, how come I have the hardest time trying to find wigs & extensions in the shading above? I think just one solid red color is easy, yes, but when a highlighting effect or gradient effect is involved, it becomes that much more complicated…

  3. January 18, 2012 11:40 am

    Section it and put it in foil. I’m not sure about the gradient but I’m sure there’s tutorials on that.

    • January 18, 2012 9:46 pm

      Hope it does involve bleach. Also wondering what color the hair would need to be first before I dyed it dark red… Ugh, so complicated!

Leave a Reply

