Skip to content

Wishing My Hard Drive Wasn’t Formatted With Windows 7…

November 11, 2011

So unless I can figure out how to reformat the hard drive I bought online, I won’t be online for yet another week. I can’t afford to ship back the hadr drive I have until next week, and I can’t afford to buy a new one until next week either. I bought Windows Vista Ultimate (full version) to load onto the hard drive, but it only gives the option to load Windows 7. The prompt to restore Windows/reformat the hard drive did not come up when Wista was loaded in before turning on the laptop. Not sure what to do now. If someone can help me out with this, I would greatly appreciate it. I don’t have another PC in the house I can connect this hard drive to aside from my dad’s uber-slow laptop (REALLY slow guys), plus the hard drive is bigger than what is in his laptop. So connecting it to another PC and removing the partitions and reformatting it that way isn’t an option.

I heard there is some special command I should be able to type in on the hard drive itself to completely wipe the drive clean so I can load Vista onto it, but no one seems to know what it is, and everything I Google is like Latin to me. Not seeing simple instructions/directions to do this. Really frustrated.

So yeah… that’s why there’s no blogging this week or next week either, unlees I can get the current hard drive I bought to work. So… can anyone help with this?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

