Skip to content

Reblog if you were unaware that Tumblr was being advertised through MTV, because you were too busy on Tumblr to watch MTV.

August 29, 2011
tags: , ,

kazlovesyou:

camiiki:

don’t watch TV that much anyway

I watch TV, just not MTV. Ugh. Tumblr, you can do better, but you continuously choose not to…

recent Buzznet post about how people are dissappointed with the roster for this year’s MTV VMAs. Now I’m sure plenty will be seated in front of their TVs for the awards show, along with the pre-show festivities. But clearly their are plenty of people who don’t care to watch the show because of how the show is set up year after year, with all the same popular artists getting the same awards year after year. And I agree. Not to mention the fact that it does seem to be the ONLY night of the year that is about the music, which is ironic since it is supposed to be “Music Television”. Now granted, Buzznet does STILL have voting going on for their own VMAs. But if it was entirely up to you to set up the VMAs, who would you have presenting, performing & winning awards? This is what my VMAs would look like: Besides the usual video awards, there would be a few awards for– Best Pop Supergroup of the Year (NKOTBSB would win this, of course) Best Pop Artist from Another Country/Continent (Kerli) Best Perseverance Through A Public Band Breakup (Paramore) Best Living Pop Star With Serious Longevity (Cher- seriously, go read her Wikipedia, she deserves an award for this) Presenters- Backstreet Boys Emma Stone Ryan Gosling Elijah Wood Jake Gyllenhaal Anna Torv & Joshua Jackson (of the show Fringe) The Cast of Community The Cast of The Buried Life YouTube Presenters (KevJumba, Karen Alloy/Spricket24, iJustine, etc) Conan O’Brien Jimmy Fallon Will Smith & Jada Pinkett Smith Gabourey Sidibe Audrey Kitching & Kerli Jac Vanek & Nicole Buckley Performances By– P.O.D. Flyleaf Paramore Alanis Morrissette Foo Fighters Goo Goo Dolls U2 NKOTBSB or Backstreet Boys Kerli Robyn Destiny’s Child reunion (just because I miss that group) Garbage reunion (because I’m tired of waiting for new music) No Doubt reunion (again, I’m tired of waiting for new music, reunite NOW) Adele (keeping her because she can belt like nothing else) Sarah McLachlan The Lonely Island (these would be the guys responsible for bringing you the funny music video digital shorts on SNL) Aaliyah Tribute (it’s been 10 years since her death- see the tribute post on Buzznet here) Amy Winehouse tribute (this is one of only a few performances from tonight’s VMA’s I’ll likely search for tomorrow; say what you will about Amy’s personal life, but her music was amazing, so the tribute is deserved, in my opinion) Also, the show would clearly be 3 hours, like it used to be back in the day. None of this 2-hour shizz like they’ve been doing at MTV the past few years. I won’t lie— I might even edit this between now and the time you read it, as I have a lot more people I’d like to see at my VMAs. This is just a taste. So, who would you have at your VMAs?
missing-e:
Moments ago, I participated in surprise conference call with Tumblr staff members. They have indicated to me that they continue to take issue withMissing e even with the removal of usage of the Tumblr API. They interpret the Tumblr API License Agreement in such a way as it continues to apply to Missing e. I disagree with their interpretation of this agreement as the preface clearly states:
By building applications that interact with Tumblr’s products and services (the “Tumblr Services”) or using the Tumblr API, including but not limited to requesting authentication credentials or making calls to the Tumblr API, Licensee unconditionally consents and agrees to be bound by and a party to this Agreement.
Missing e only affects how your browser displays Tumblr content once it has already been loaded. It does not, itself, interact with Tumblr Services or the API, only providing a way for you to do so yourself. They informed me that they consulted their legal counsel, who feels comfortable interpreting the license agreement in the way that they have stated. I have requested information on those grounds, but do not believe much will come of it. I believe that Tumblr has no desire to clarify their position. That’s their prerogative, I’m sure. Whether or not I have grounds to justly disagree with them on this, the fact remains that under the Tumblr Terms of Service, they are well within their rights to delete my Tumblr blogs as a punitive action should I continue to distribute the extension. They have informed me that this is the course of action they will take should I not acquiesce to their demands. I attempted to discuss options through which we could work together on makingMissing e something they would accept, but after initial positive statements, they seemed fairly averse to the idea. Their intent is for me to stop distribution of Missing e in any form. Their concerns range from a perception of an increased support load due to “issues” with Missing e features to a desire to dictate how the Tumblr interface is presented to all users. Even after my commitment to them that I would not permit any feature that removes their content or modifies it in any way that would prevent promotional content from being visible from users, they still would not change their position in any way. I have requested that the request be given in writing so as to (hopefully) clarify the position and their reasons for choosing the option of deleting my blogs as a solution to their “Missing e problem”. Whether or not any satisfaction or understanding for any Missing e user will be gained from this remains to be seen. In the meantime, within a respectable amount of time after the official request from Tumblr arrives, Missing e will be shuttered once more. Either that, or I am forced out of this community.
I’m hella agitated now. Why the fuck the Tumblr insist on killing Missing e? Why don’t you assholes care about the fact that it makes Tumblr better for your bloggers, since you all clearly too stupid to figure out how to do that? If Missing e goes again, so do I. I didn’t like the way they handled this the first time, and I sure as hell don’t like how they’re handling it now. I’m so telling people not to join Tumblr, because I know the staff and idiot David Karp will continue trying to roll out shitty versions of Missing e features and act like they’re helping when they’re more than likely complicating the shit out of Tumblr blogging. Goddamn you idiots… Looks like I won’t be blogging from Tumblr anymore once Missing e goes. It will be all Buzznet for me from here on out… →
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

