Skip to content

I haven’t done a vegan food post in a while, so I thought I reblog this & edit it with my own answers. Enjoy!
Favorite non-dairy milk? Similac Soy Isomil milk. Some moms may recognize that because it’s baby formula. I drink this and add a bit of vegan or organic sugar to it. Before that I drank Prosobee (also a soy milk baby formula), and for the majority of my life I drank Nursoy (also a soy milk baby formula). I don’t like the way most soy milks & rice milks taste in comparison to baby formula, even when I add sugar to them. So as weird as it is to say I drink baby formula, well… I do, because I prefer it. *Shrugs* What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook/make? 1. Vegan Vanilla Ice Cream (with the canned version of the soy milk I drink)2. Vegan Cinnamon Buns3. Ginger Peanut Soup (or in my case, Ginger “SoyNut” Soup— basically broccoli, cauliflower, canned tomatoes, water, a bit of ginger, cayenne pepper, salt, regular pepper, & some soy “nut” butter instead of peanut butter) Topping of choice for popcorn? Just vegan butter/margarine. Haven’t tried it with anything else Most disastrous recipe/meal failure? Some creamy onion/spinach soup or dish that I made. It didn’t taste right, so my mom suggested I add sugar, which made it taste worse. No one wanted it, so I had to throw it all out. :( Favorite pickled item? I’m not really into pickled-anything. I’ll try it, but what I have tried I’m not crazy about. How do you organize your recipes? Right now I simply email them to myself, then save them in a special email folder. Easier to keep track of, and saves paper. I do end up printing out the recipes I really like and make often. I stick those recipes in a binder. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal? Recycle + trash + garbage disposal. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)? Ooh, I have to think about this one… Favorite vegan ice cream? My homemade vegan vanilla ice cream. Most loved kitchen appliance? Right now it’s my Magic Bullet Blender (my mom gave it to me as a Christmas present… then went out and bought one for herself, too). But I’d really like that Magic Bullet 8-Minute Meal Machine/Food Processor. As horrible as the ad/commercial is for it, the machine is amazing. My mother bought one for herself, and I’m jealous. I can’t afford to get it right now. :( Spice/herb you would die without? I… don’t know? Maybe cinnamon? I use that on my oatmeal for breakfast. I tend to use seasoned salt & peppers & Ms. Dash most of the time. I only use other herbs & spices when a recipe calls for it. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time? I don’t actually own one yet… though I have a long wishlist of them on Amazon.  Favorite flavor of jam/jelly? Plain old grape jam. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend? I don’t cook vegan food for omni-friends because all my friends— whom are all omni— now live at least 800 miles away from me, and I’m too broke to visit them! Seitan, tofu, or tempeh? Seitan and/or tofu. I’ve tried to cook tempeh several different ways, and no matter what, I don’t really like the way it tastes as much as I do seitan & tofu. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)? I don’t have a favorite meal overall. I like to cook whenever the mood (or my hunger) strikes me. Unfortunately, I can’t cook late at night as I need to cook in dim light because otherwise I’ll get a bad headache, and my mother insists on having that ugly, bright ass kitchen light on at night. So until I have my own place, I only cook during daylight. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator? Well, it’s not my refrigerator so much as the family refrigerator. My mother’s kitchen machinery is sitting on top of it. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking. An Alexia brand frozen veggie dish/meal, frozen broccoli florets, frozen strawberries. What’s on your grocery list? Not much right now, because I restocked my groceries recently. Just vegetable broth, ginger, and Gardein meats. Oh, and more Alexia frozen dishes. Favorite grocery store? I go to several different places so I can both save money & get a variety of stuff that allows me to expand my restricted diet (I have food allergies on top of being vegan). People are gonna hate that I’m saying this, but I do like Super Wal-Mart because they’re more affordable than most grocery stores in my area. I also like Kroger because they have a section of vegan, vegetarian & organic foods. Then there is a store near me called Raisin Rack, which sells nothing but vegan, vegetarian & organic versions of food & beauty/body products. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet. Hot dogs & cinnamon buns (I have a few vegan recipes for the buns, though) Food blog you read the most. Whatever/whoever I follow on Tumblr, and on the vegan tags. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate? I’m allergic to chocolate. There’s only 2 candies I eat. One is Bazooka Bubble Gum & the other is LifeSavers Wintogreen Mints. I think that one of those may not be vegan. But with my extreme food allergies, I allow myself whatever I can have, and I don’t feel guilty about it. Most extravagant food item purchased lately? Either Tempeh bacon, seitan, or vegan cheese (both Daiya & Teese). Can’t remember which I bought most recently. 

July 14, 2011

Vegan Survey (Reblogged from Tawningham but edited with my OWN answers…)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

