Skip to content

July 14, 2011

Ginger Peanut Soy”Nut” Soup

(my Soy”Nut” version is explained below the original recipe:)

veganandsara:

Ginger Peanut Soup

Ingredients:
    1 and 1/2 cup chopped broccoli
    1 and 1/2 cup chopped cauliflower
    1 med. onion
    1 tbsp ginger, grated
    3 cloves garlic, minced or crushed
    1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
    1/2 tsp salt
    1/2 tsp pepper
    2 tbsp olive oil
    3 cup veg stock or water
    1 28-oz can diced tomatoes
    5 tbsp peanut butter (natural and crunchy is best)

Directions:

In large pot, sauté onions in oil until soft. Add other veggies, ginger, garlic, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper until veggies are just tender. Add stock or water, canned tomatoes, and peanut butter. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

A variation is adding some unsweetened shredded coconut which goes well with the peanut and ginger flavors.

Serves: 4-6

Preparation time: 30 minutes

I made this and… well, it tastes really good. Initially I thought I didn’t like it enough for me to want to make it again. But it tastes better once you refrigerate it & then reheat it, because all the flavors have settled & marinated. So try it once when you make it, then save some to refrigerate, and then reheat it & try it again later on.

The first time I made my soup, I did it almost exactly as the recipe said, with one exception— I used crunchy soy”nut” butter instead of peanut butter, since I’m allergic to anything with nuts in it. I imagine it still came out the way it was supposed to. It looks like it does in the original photo above (except they’ve apparently added carrots, which I didn’t do because the recipe didn’t call for them).

After making it that way a few times, I decided to get canned tomatoes (Del Monte brand) that are spiced with basil, garlic & oregano. OMG, this dish tastes that much better (to me anyway) when the canned tomatoes are spiced with that. I don’t even use the regular canned tomatoes anymore. Really yummy. You must try it if you can…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

