Skip to content

April 6, 2011

veganandsara:

Sweet and Sour Seitan

Ingredients:

    1 – 2 packages seitan cut into bite-sized chunks
    3/4 cup flour
    2 tablespoon cornstarch
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    3/4 cup water
    Peanut oil (Cherry Ambition note- you can use any kind of oil, really)
    1 green pepper cut in chunks
    1 red pepper cut in chunks
    1 onion cut in chunks
    1 can pineapple chunks
    jar of sweet and sour sauce

Directions:
Mix together flour, water, cornstarch, salt and baking soda in medium bowl.

Stir seitan into batter until well coated.

Fry coated seitan in 2 inches of hot oil for 3 minutes or until golden brown.

Drain Seitan, keep it hot.

Combine green pepper and onion and sauté for 5 min.  Add pineapple and sweet and sour sauce, let simmer for 15 minutes. Pour over seitan and serve with rice.

Serves: 4-6

Preparation time: 30 minutes

V&S: I just made this. If you’re okay with really greasy food, I would stick with this recipe. I’m not that into greasy food. For people like me, I would skip out coating the seitan with the batter, because then it becomes super breaded and greasy as hell. Having the seitan separate is still a good idea though. It serves as a mild counterpart to the rest of the ingredients. Otherwise, I enjoyed this!

I tried this out recently, and although it did taste good, it didn’t look like it does here in this picture, because I did it differently:

  1. I used only 1 package of seitan, because it’s all I had on hand. I would halve all the other ingredients if you do this, so there’s not more veggies than seitan, but also so you don’t get mostly batter instead of actual seitan.
  2. I had no baking soda on hand, so I skipped it. Don’t know if this affected the recipe that much.
  3. I used almost a whole jar of sweet and sour sauce, because the recipe doesn’t specify how much of the jar to use. It just says a jar, so I basically did it, lol. It didn’t make the dish taste bad, but I will try to use less next time just to see how different it taste. 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

