Skip to content

What IS “Cherry Ambition”?

March 13, 2010

Hello all. This is (obviously) the first post for my blog. No doubt I’ll be editing this first post. For now, I’m just going to write about why I’m starting this blog but not posting anything for awhile, what I want this blog to mean for me, and what I hope it will mean for you. (I also want to note that the girl in this photo is NOT me. I’ll explain the photo later. Anyways…)

I decided to call the blog “Cherry Ambition” for several reasons. It’s a play on the phrase “blond ambition”, which was the name of Madonna’s 1990 world tour. (Pointless info- It was also used as a title for a straight-to-DVD movie Jessica Simpson was in, although it was spelled “Blonde” with an E on the end.)

Anyways, I’m sure “blond ambition” is probably trademarked or something, so I’d have to pay to use that. I’m also not a blonde, so even if I wanted to use that wording and was willing to pay for it, it wouldn’t make any sense. That’s where the “Cherry” part comes in. I’m a redhead. Not a natural redhead, unfortunately. But I love red hair and redheads. I own and have worn a lot of red wigs. And someday, when I have a job and some income coming in, I plan on actually dying my own hair red and getting some red hair extensions to go with it. I want my hair to look just like the girl’s hair in the photo above. I found this picture when I did a Google image/picture search for “red scene hair”. LOVE this photo. (You can check it out at Luv-emo.com. Just scroll down a bit to see it.)

But back to the blog title. “Ambition” means a strong desire to achieve something or the desire for personal achievement. I definitely have a strong desire to achieve a lot of things for myself. I’m in my mid-20’s, and when I compare myself to others my age, I feel like a failure.

I graduated from college in June 2009, in the midst of all this economic chaos we’re experiencing. I had a government/healthcare job I thought I would be keeping or promoted from, and instead was let go because I graduated (my position was a student position). And there was no other position I was qualified for in the department, apparently. So for nearly 8 months, I’ve been looking for work, of course with no payoff. I’m on unemployment, but unless they allow for more extensions, my unemployment will run out right before or on my birthday at the end of this month (March). Yeah, happy birthday to me. So until I get a job or land some nice windfall, I’ll be living with and dealing with my parents and teenaged sister for a long time to come. And I really don’t want that.

So what do I want (besides a job/lots of money and cool red hair)? I want an apartment of house of my own that I can decorate just the way I like. I want to live in Florida so I can live in the sun, so I don’t have to deal with snow anymore (or ever again), and so I can be closer to my best friends who live in Florida. I want a hybrid SUV without any serious issues. I want a nose piercing and a 2 or 3 tattoos. I want my own refrigerator that I don’t have to share with anyone, so I can stuff it full of juice, veggies, fruits, tofu, and anything else I like. I want to be able to visit a beach on a daily basis. I want financial independence and personal freedom. I just want space to be myself, without someone— anyone— hanging over my damn shoulder, always wanting to know what I’m doing and/or telling me how to do it.

Of course, most of what I want costs money— money that I don’t have. So I have no idea when or if any of this will ever happen, as much as I hope that it will, but I’ll try to write about it while I can. But if some of it does happen, then I’ll post about that as well. And ideally, that’s what I really like this blog to be about— what I am doing with my life, not just what I wish for my life. But for now, wishing is all I can do.

My Bucket List/Life Wish List is my online version of my bucket list— a very ambitious list of ALL the things I want to do with my life, even longer than what I wrote here. Once I feel inspired to, I plan to write detailed posts here about each and every thing on that list, so I have plenty I can write about for a while.

I’m not just writing for me, though. If that were the case, I’d just write all this down in a diary and nowhere else. Or I wouldn’t write at all. My hope is that you’ll get something out of my posts. That you’ll be inspired to go out and do something unusual or crazy that you want to do (within the law, of course). That you’ll do something regardless of what other people might think. That you’ll experience a little moment of joy/bliss or inspiration, if not a series of moments. And hopefully, I’ll also eventually get a few moments of joy/bliss or inspiration in the process of doing so for you.

But I can’t do that if I don’t feel inspired myself to write something significant. I mean, I could keep writing/typing blog entries about everything I want to do with my life, but then this blog would just become a more detailed version of my bucket list (which I already posted the link to). And that’s not what I want this blog to be. I don’t want to write a bunch of blog entries about what I wish I had or wish I was doing with my life. I want for this blog to be about me sharing what I am doing with my life, from the usual things people want and have at my age, like buying/renting that first home, buying/paying off that first car. I also want to be able to blog about experiences that not everyone gets to have or considers having, like getting a first tattoo or piercing, or an exotic vacation, or something extreme like skydiving or bungee jumping.

In short, I don’t want this blog to be just a wish list, and I certainly don’t want to depress you with what is actually going on in my life right now (which has gotten worse and will probably continue to for a long awhile). I want to be able to inspire you and lift your spirits up with this blog. But again, I need to be inspired and lifted up myself. So this is the first blog entry, but also the last blog entry for awhile. Hopefully not forever. But I really don’t know. For now, I wish you lots of luck & blessings. And say a little prayer for me every now and then…

P.S. If you don’t want to follow me on Tumblr, but you have a Blogger or Buzznet account, you can follow me there instead (the content from here on out will be identical): Cherry Ambition blog on Blogger, Cherry Ambition journal entries on Buzznet

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

